Advisory Group

The mandate of the Advisory Group for the Internet Governance Forum was renewed on 20 August 2007.

More details about the Advisory Group and the Open Consultations meetings are available here.

List of Members



Mr. Desai, Nitin
The United Nations Secretary-General's Special Adviser for Internet Governance: Delhi/Mumbai.


Mr. Akplogan, Adiel
Port Louis - CEO, Regional Internet Registry (RIR) for Africa - AfriNIC

Mr. AlShatti, Qusai
Kuwait City - Deputy Chairman of Kuwait Information Technology Society

Ms. Arida, Christine
Cairo - Director of Telecom Planning Services, National Telecom Regulatory Authority, Egypt

Mr. Bayramov, Ayaz
Baku - Head of Department for International Relations and Cooperation with NGOs, Ministry of Communications and Information Technologies, Azerbaijan

Ms. Betancourt, Valeria
Quito - Coordinator of the Communication and Information Policy Programme in Latin America, Association for Progressive Communications (APC)

Ms. Cavalli, Olga del Carmen
Buenos Aires - Adviser for Technology, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Argentina

Mr. Clarke, Trevor
Geneva - Permanent Representative of Barbados to the United Nations Office at Geneva

Mr. Daftardar, Abdullah M.
Riyadh - Senior Executive, Communications and Information Technology Commission, Saudi Arabia

Mr. Dardailler, Daniel
Nice - Associate Chair for Europe, World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)

Ms. Diop Diagne, Ndeye Maimouna
Dakar - Director of Information and Communication Technology (ICT), Ndeye Maimouna Ministry of Posts, Telecommunications and ICT, Senegal

Mr. Disspain, Chris
Carlton, Australia - Chief Executive Officer, AU Registry; Chair, Council of Country-Code Names Supporting Organization (ccNSO)

Ms. Dryden, Heather
Ottawa - Senior Advisor, International Telecommunications Policy and Coordination, Telecommunications Policy Branch, Industry Canada, Canada

Mr. Echeberría, Raúl
Montevideo - Executive Director/CEO, Latin American and Caribbean Internet Addresses Registry (LACNIC)

Mr. Ermolaev, Artem 
Russia - Deputy Director Scientific, Technical and Strategy Development Department, Ministry of Telecom and Mass Communications

Mr. Fältström, Patrik
Stockholm - Consulting Engineer, Cisco Systems; Member, Board of Internet Society; Member, Swedish Government IT Advisory Group

Mr. Filip, Ondrej
Prague - Chief Executive Officer, CZ.NIC

Mr. Graham, Bill
Ottawa - Global Strategic Engagement, Internet Society (ISOC) 

Ms. Gross, Robin D.
San Francisco, CA - Executive Director, IP Justice

Mr. Hansem, José Vitor  Carvalho
Brasilia - Deputy Head, Division of Science and Technology, Ministry of External Relations, Brazil

Ms. Hassan, Ayesha
Paris - Senior Policy Manager, E-Business, IT, and Telecoms, Executive in charge of Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) Policy, International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)

Mr. Hellmonds, Peter
Munich – Head, Corporate Social Responsibility, Nokia Siemens Networks

Mr. Hilali, Aziz 
Rabat - Professor, Institut Supérieur des Télécommunications de Rabat ; President, Internet Society Morocco

Ms. Hofmann, Jeanette
London - Senior Researcher, London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) / Social Science Research Center Berlin

Mr. Jamil, Zahid Usman
Karachi - Senior Partner and Barrister-at-Law, Jamil and Jamil, Chairman, Domain Name Dispute Resolution Center

Mr. Kārkliņš, Jānis
Paris - Ambassador of Latvia to France and Permanent Representative to UNESCO

Mr. Katoh, Masanobu
Tokyo - Corporate Vice President; President of the Law and Intellectual Property Unit and Security Export Control Headquarters, Fujitsu Limited

Mr. Katundu, Michael
Nairobi - Assistant Director, Information Technology Communications Commission, Kenya

Mr. de La Chapelle, Bertrand
Paris - Special Envoy for the Information Society, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, France

Mr. Lau, Stephen K.M.
Hong Kong - Chairman, Electronic Data System (EDS)

Mr. Lohento, Ken-Gemma Brice
Dakar - Panos Institute West Africa, Coordinator, Center for International ICT Policies for Central and West Africa (CIPACO)

Mr. Matulis, Aurimas 
Vilnius - Director of the Information Society Development Committee, Lithuania

Mr. Moedjiono, Sardjoeni
Jakarta - Senior Adviser to the Minister of Communication and Sardjoeni Information Technology of the Republic of Indonesia for International Relations and Digital Divide, Indonesia

Mr. Oliver, Colin
Canberra - Assistant Secretary, International Branch, Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy, Canberra, Australia

Mr. Papadatos, George
Geneva - Minister-Counsellor, Permanent Mission of Greece to the United Nations Office at Geneva

Ms. Park, Youn Jung
Delft - Senior Research Fellow, Delft University of Technology

Ms. Piñeiro, Lorena
Santiago - Head of International Affairs Department, Undersecretariate of Telecommunications, Chile

Mr. Pisanty, Alejandro
Mexico City - Director of Computing Academic Services, Universidad Autónoma de México; Director, ISOC Mexico

Ms. Primo, Natasha
Johannesburg – National ICT Policy Advocacy Coordinator, Association for Progressive Communications (APC)

Mr. Quaynor, Nii
Accra - Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Network Computer Systems; President, Internet Society of Ghana

Mr. Riehl, Frédéric
Bienne - Deputy Director, Head of International Relations Service, Federal Office of Communications, Switzerland

Ms. Rionge, Njeri
Nairobi - Chief Executive Officer; Ignite Consulting Limited

Mr. Sambrook, Richard
London - Director, Global News Division, British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC); Vice President, European Broadcasting Union (EBU)

Mr. Seadat, Peiman
Tehran – Deputy Director for International Specialized Agencies, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Islamic Republic of Iran

Ms. Selaimen, Graciela
Rio de Janeiro - Executive Coordinator, Núcleo de Pesquisas, Estudos e Formação (NUPEF)

Mr. Sha'ban, Charles
Amman - Executive Director, Regional Office, Abu-Ghazaleh Intellectual Property

Mr. Shanker, N. Ravi
New Delhi - Joint Secretary, Government of India, Ministry of Communications and Information technology, Department of Information Technology, India

Ms. Swinehart, Theresa
Marina del Rey, CA - Vice President, Global and Strategic Partnerships, Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN)

Mr. Tang, Zicai
Beijing - Deputy Director for International Organizations, Department of International Cooperation, Ministry of Industry and Information Technology, China

Ms. Taylor, Emily
Oxford - Nominet.UK, Director of Legal and Policy

Ms. Warren, Jennifer A.
Alexandria, VA - Vice President, Technology Policy & Regulation,Lockheed Martin Corporation

Mr. Yahaya, Issah
Accra - Head of Policy Planning, Monitoring & Evaluation/Telecoms, Ministry of Communications, Ghana

Advisory Group to the Chair

Glaser, Hartmut
Director of São Paulo

Kleinwächter, Wolfgang
Professor, International Communication Policy and Regulation, University of Aarhus: Aarhus

Kurbalija, Jovan
La Valetta - Director, DiploFoundation: Geneva

Miloshevic, Desiree
Afilias, ISOC Board Member: London

Sadowsky, George
Executive Director, Global Internet Policy Initiative: Stamford, CT

Shaw, Heather
Vice President, ICT Policy, United States Council for International Business: New York, NY